Skip to content Skip to navigation

Conference Presentations with Peer-Reviewed Abstracts

 

 

  1. Michalek, J.J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C., Ferreira, P., Muller, N. "Effects of On-Demand Ridesourcing on U.S. Vehicle Ownership, Travel Patterns, and Energy Use Externalities". NBER Conference on Economics of Energy Use in Transportation. Washington, DC, USA, May 3, 2019 (Oral presentation).
  2. Tschofen, P. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Muller, N.Z. "Fine Particulate Matter Damages and Value Added in the United States Economy". Engineering Sustainability '19. Pittsburgh, PA, USA, April 8, 2019 (Oral presentation).
  3. Ward, J.W. (speaker), Michalek, J.J., Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C. "On-demand ridesourcing has reduced per-capita vehicle registrations and air pollutant emissions in U.S. states." Engineering Sustainability '19. Pittsburgh, PA, USA, April 8, 2019 (Oral presentation).
  4. Donti, P.L., Azevedo I.L., and Kolter J.Z. "Inverse Optimal Power Flow: Assessing the Vulnerability of Power Grid Data," Power and Energy Conference Illinois (PECI) 2019, Champaign, IL, USA. February 28-March 1, 2019. (Poster)
  5. Donti, P.L., Azevedo I.L., and Kolter J.Z. "Inverse Optimal Power Flow: Assessing the Vulnerability of Power Grid Data," CMU Energy Week 2019. Pittsburgh, PA, USA. March 25-28, 2019. (Poster)
  6. Donti, P.L., Azevedo I.L., and Kolter J.Z. "Inverse Optimal Power Flow: Assessing the Vulnerability of Power Grid Data," Engineering Sustainability 2019. Pittsburgh, PA, USA. April 8-10, 2019. (Poster)
  7. Mayfield, E. (speaker), Cohon, J., Robinson, A., Muller, N., Azevedo, I., Vorhees, D.  "Cumulative air, climate, and employment impacts of natural gas systems".  American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting.  Phoenix, AZ, USA, December 12, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  8. Donti, P.L. (speaker), Azevedo I.L., and Kolter J.Z. (2018) Inverse Optimal Power Flow: Assessing the Vulnerability of Power Grid Data, Modeling the Physical World: Perception, Learning, and Control Workshop at NeurIPS 2018, Montreal, Canada. December 7.
  9. Donti, P.L. (speaker), Azevedo I.L., and Kolter J.Z. (2018) Inverse Optimal Power Flow: Assessing the Vulnerability of Power Grid Data, AI for Social Good Workshop at NeurIPS 2018, Montreal, Canada. December 8.
  10. Mayfield, E., Cohon, J., Robinson, A., Muller, N., Azevedo, I., Vorhees, D.  "Cumulative impacts and equity of natural gas systems".  C3E.  Palo Alto, CA, USA, December 4, 2018 (Poster).
  11. Mayfield, E. (speaker), Cohon, J., Robinson, A., Muller, N., Azevedo, I.  "Multiobjective model of cumulative air, climate, and employment impacts and equity of natural gas systems".  INFORMS.  Phoenix, AZ, USA, November 7, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  12. Deetjen, T.A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., "Modeling the energy demand of buildings and districts". INFORMS Annual Meeting. Phoenix, AZ, USA, November 7, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  13. Ward, J.W. (speaker), Michalek, J.J., Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C. "On-demand ridesourcing has reduced per-capita vehicle registrations and air pollutant emissions in U.S. states." Conference on Transportation, Economics, Energy, and the Environment. Ann Arbor, MI, USA, October 25, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  14. Ward, J.W. (speaker), Michalek, J.J., Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C. "On-demand ridesourcing has reduced per-capita vehicle registrations and air pollutant emissions in U.S. states." Behavior, Energy, and Climate Change Conference. Washington, DC, USA, October 9, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  15. Deetjen, T.A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., "Modeling how large-scale, residential, energy efficiency investments impact power sector dispatch and emissions". USAEE North American Meeting. Washington, DC, USA, September 23, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  16. Sergi, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Davis, S., Muller, N. "Evaluating exported and imported health damages from emissions across U.S. counties." United States Association for Energy Economics. Washington, DC, USA. September 24, 2018. (Oral presentation).
  17. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Griffin, W.M., Azevedo, I.L. "Low-Carbon Electrofuel Synthesis for Aviation and Freight Transportation: A Techno-Economic Analysis." United States Association for Energy Economics. Washington, D.C., September 23-26, 2018. (Oral presentation)
  18. Ward, J.W. (speaker), Michalek, J.J., Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C. "On-demand ridesourcing has reduced per-capita vehicle registrations and air pollutant emissions in U.S. states." USAEE/IAEE North American Conference. Washington, DC, USA, September 23, 2018 (Oral presentation).
  19. Sergi, B. (speaker), Adams, P., Muller, N., Robinson, A., Davis, S., Azevedo, I.L. "Integrating climate and health objectives to inform clean energy siting in capacity expansion modeling." International Energy Workshop, Gothenburg, Sweden, June 19, 2018. (Oral presentation).
  20. Ward, J.W. (speaker), Michalek, J., Azevedo, I.L., and C. Samaras. "On-Demand Ridesourcing has Reduced Per-Capita Vehicle Registrations and Gasoline Use in U.S. States", Transportation Research Board. Washington, DC, USA. January 7-11, 2018. (Poster)
  21. Kaack, L.H. (speaker), Vaishnav, P., Morgan, M.G., Azevedo, I.L., Rai, S. "Decarbonizing Global Freight Transportation with a Focus on Modal Shift", International Railway Symposium Aachen (IRSA), RWTH Aachen, Germany. November 30, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  22. Hanus, N. (speaker), Wong-Parodi, G., Azevedo, I., and Davis, A.  "Measuring PV technical potential and financial feasibility for educational buildings in the United States." 35th USAEE/IAEE North American Conference. Houston, TX, USA. November 13, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  23. Hanus, N. (speaker), Wong-Parodi, G., Azevedo, I., and Davis, A. "Measuring PV technical potential, financial feasibility, and associated societal benefits for educational institutions in the United States." Behavior, Energy & Climate Change Conference. Sacramento, CA, USA. October 17, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  24. Deetjen, T.A., (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., "Modeling how large-scale, residential, energy efficiency investments impact power sector dispatch and emissions." United States Association for Energy Economics. Washington, DC, USA. September 24, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  25. Sherwin, E.D., Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Make Electricity Consumption More Peaky?" Energy Efficiency in Domestic Appliances and Lighting, Irvine, California. September 13-15, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  26. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Change Electricity Consumption Behavior?" International Energy Program Evaluation Conference, Baltimore, Maryland. August 8-10, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  27. Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C. "Expert assessments on the future of direct current in buildings." International Symposium for Sustainable Systems and Technology 2017. Chicago, IL, USA. June 28, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  28. Sergi, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Davis, A., Xu, J., Xia, T. "Using Discrete Choice Methods to Evaluate Public Preferences for Tradeoffs in Health, Climate, and Economic Benefits from Electricity Generation in China" Western Economics Association International. San Diego, CA, USA. June 26, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  29. Hanus, N. (speaker), Azevedo, I., Wong-Parodi, G., "Estimating local private and social benefits from solar PV on all US educational institutions." International Symposium for Sustainable Systems and Technology. Buffalo, NY, USA. June 26, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  30. Sherwin, E.D., Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Change Electricity Consumption Behavior?" International Society for Industrial Ecology-International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology 2017 Joint Conference, Chicago, Illinois. June 25-29, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  31. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Change Electricity Consumption Behavior?" Empirical Methods in Energy Economics. University of Southern California. Los Angeles, California. June 22-23, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  32. Sergi, B., Azevedo, I.L., Davis, A., Xu, J., Xia, T., Donti, P (speaker) "Public perceptions of climate change and air pollution in China" Society for Risk Analysis Europe. Lisbon, Portugal. June 20, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  33. Sherwin, E.D., De la Maza, C. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Change Peak Consumption Behavior?" Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. May 31-June 2, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  34. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Meyer, R.M. "Characterization of utility programs' enrollment by income and region", European Council for an Energy Efficient Economy Summer Study, Hyères, France. May 29-June 3, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  35. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Change Electricity Consumption Behavior?" Center for Climate and Energy Decision Making Annual Meeting, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. May 24-25, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  36. Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C. "Assessing the value of information in residential building simulation: Comparing simulated and actual building loads at the circuit level." Engineering Sustainability 2017. Pittsburgh, PA, USA. April 10, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  37. Hanus, N. (speaker), Wong-Parodi, G., Azevedo, I., and Davis, A. "Measuring PV technical potential and financial feasibility for non-profit buildings in the United States." Engineering Sustainability 2017, Innovation and the Triple Bottom Line. Pittsburgh, PA, USA. April 11, 2017. (Oral presentation).
  38. Donti, P.L., Azevedo I.L., and Kolter J.Z. "Predicting Marginal Generators in Real Time," Engineering Sustainability 2017. Pittsburgh, PA, USA. April 9-11, 2017. (Poster)
  39. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Make Electricity Consumption More Peaky?" Engineering Sustainability 2017, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. April 10, 2017. (Poster presentation)
  40. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L. "Do Low-income Electric Subsidies Change Electricity Consumption Behavior?" Applied Economics and Management Graduate Student Seminar Series. Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. March 31, 2017. (Oral presentation)
  41. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker). Discussant for "Sustainability, Volatility, and the Evolution of Energy Markets (Q4)" session of the International Association for Energy Economics/ASSA conference in Chicago, USA, January 6-8, 2017. (Discussant).
  42. Sergi, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Davis, A., (2016). Assessing public perceptions of energy tradeoffs with discrete choice analysis, Behavior, Energy, and Climate Change Conference (BECC), Baltimore, MD, US, October 20-22, 2016. (Oral presentation)   
  43. Meyer, R.M., Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo I.L., (2016). Household energy consumption effects of PG&E’s electrical efficiency rebate program, Behavior, Energy, and Climate Change Conference (BECC), Baltimore, MD, US, October 20-22, 2016. (Oral presentation)
  44. Sun, X. (speaker), Gingerich, D.B., Azevedo, I.L., Mauter, M.S., (2016). Trace element allocation across air pollution control devices in coal-fired power plants, American Chemistry Society (ACS) National Meeting 2016, Philadelphia, PA, US, August 21-25, 2016. (Oral presentation)
  45. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Henrion, M, Azevedo, I.L., (2016). The US energy system has become more volatile and harder to predict, Western Economic Association International 91st Annual Conference/Association of Environmental and Resource Economists 5th Annual Summer Conference, Portland, OR, US, June 30-July 2, 2016. (Oral presentation)
  46. Sergi, B. (speaker and panel chair), Azevedo, I.L., Davis, A., (2016). Understanding public perceptions of tradeoffs in climate, health, and energy using discrete choice analysis, Panel on Valuing Health and Climate Trade-offs: Understanding Perceived and Modeled Trade-offs in the Power Sector, Annual meeting of the Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences, Washington, DC, US, June 8-11, 2016. (Oral presentation)
  47. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L., (2016). Spatial analysis of air quality impacts from using natural gas for road transportation, The International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST 2016), Phoenix, AZ, US, May 16-18, 2016. (Poster presentation)
  48. Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C., (2016). Assessing the value of information in residential building simulation, The International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST 2016), Phoenix, AZ, US, May 16-18, 2016. (Oral presentation)
  49. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L., (2016). Spatial analysis of air quality impacts from using natural gas for road transportation, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Annual Meeting 2016, Washington DC, US, February 11-15, 2016. (Poster presentation)
  50. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L., (2015). Spatial analysis of air quality impacts from using natural gas for road transportation, The 33rd United States Association for Energy Economics (USAEE)/International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) North American Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, October 25-28, 2015. (Oral presentation)
  51. Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C., (2015). Understanding the potential for electricity savings and assessing feasibility of a transition towards DC powered buildings, The 33rd United States Association for Energy Economics (USAEE)/International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) North American Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, October 25-28, 2015. (Poster Presentation –*won best poster award*)
  52. Kaack, L.H. (speaker), Apt, J., Morgan, M.G., Sherwin, E.D., Azevedo, I.L., (2015). Introducing probability into energy forecasting, The 33rd United States Association for Energy Economics (USAEE)/International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) North American Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, October 25-28, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  53. Lamy, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I., Jaramillo, P., Wiser, R., (2015). Optimal wind farm siting decisions in the Midwest, The 33rd United States Association for Energy Economics (USAEE)/International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) North American Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, October 25-28, 2015. (Oral presentation)
  54. Sergi, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Davis, A., (2015). The impact of climate change and air pollution information on support for CO2 emissions regulations, The 33rd United States Association for Energy Economics (USAEE)/International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) North American Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, October 25-28, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  55. Sherwin, E.D. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Henrion, M., (2015). US energy surprises have become more frequent: retrospective analysis of US energy forecasts, The 33rd United States Association for Energy Economics (USAEE)/International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) North American Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, October 25-28, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  56. Lamy, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Bruine de Bruin, W., Morgan, M.G., (2015). Valuing NIMBY concerns about wind farms in Massachusetts, Behavior Energy & Climate Change Conference (BECC), Sacramento, CA, US, October 18-24, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  57. Tong, F., Jaramillo, P. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2015). The benefits of using natural gas for road transportation - a county-level analysis of reduced criteria air pollutants from natural gas use for light duty and heavy duty vehicles, 8th Conference of the International Society for Industrial Ecology, Guildford, UK, July 7-10, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  58. Markolf, S. (speaker), Matthews, H.S., Azevedo, I.L., and Hendrickson, C.T. (2015). The implications of climatic temperature change and population growth on metropolitan greenhouse gas emissions, The Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) Research and Education Conference, New Haven, CT, US, June 13-16, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  59. Markolf, S. (speaker), Matthews, H.S., Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C.T. (2015). The implications of climatic temperature change and population growth on metropolitan greenhouse gas emissions, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST), Dearborn, MI, US, May 18-20, 2015. (Oral presentation)
  60. Seki, S.M. (speaker), Griffin, W.M., Michalek, J.J., Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C. (2015). An evaluation of potential Natural Gas to Liquid Fuel (NGLF) production processes with an estimate of cost in Pennsylvania, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST), Dearborn, MI, US, May 18-20, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  61. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L. (2015). The benefits of using natural gas for road transportation - a county-level analysis of reduced criteria air pollutants from natural gas use for light duty and heavy duty vehicles, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST), Dearborn, MI, US, May 18-20, 2015. (Oral presentation)
  62. Glasgo, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Hendrickson, C., (2015). Understanding the potential for electricity savings and assessing the feasibility of a transition towards DC powered buildings using real load data, Engineering Sustainability 2015: Innovation and the Triple Bottom Line, sponsored by the Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation and the Steinbrenner Institute for Environmental Education and Research, Pittsburgh, PA, US, April 19-21, 2015. (Oral presentation)
  63. Markolf, S. (speaker), Matthews, H.S., Azevedo, I.L., and Hendrickson, C.T. (2015). The implications of population growth on climate action planning at the metropolitan level, Engineering Sustainability 2015: Innovation and the Triple Bottom Line, sponsored by the Mascaro Center for Sustainable Innovation and the Steinbrenner Institute for Environmental Education and Research, Pittsburgh, PA, US, April 19-21, 2015. (Poster presentation)
  64. Horner, N.C. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2015). Energy efficiency in data centers: moving beyond PUE, World Sustainable Energy Days Young Researchers Conference in Energy Efficiency, Wels, Austria, February 25-27, 2015. (Oral presentation)
  65. Azevedo I. L. (speaker), (2014). Keep it simple to keep it cool: understanding the performance of energy and climate forecasts, INFORMS, San Francisco, CA, US, November 9-12, 2014. (Oral Presentation)
  66. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L., (2014). A comparison of air emissions from natural gas pathways for road transportation, 4th Annual Energy Policy Research Conference, San Francisco, CA, US, September 4-5, 2014. (Oral presentation)
  67. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L., (2014). A comparison of air emissions from natural gas pathways for road transportation, American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Shale Energy Engineering Conference 2014, Pittsburgh, PA, US, July 20-23, 2014. (Poster presentation)
  68. Posen, I. D. (speaker), Griffin, W. M., Matthews, H. S., Azevedo, I.L., (2014). Greenhouse gas mitigation benefits of expanding US biofuel incentives to promote biomass use in chemical feedstocks, Technology, Management and Public Policy Graduate Consortium, Lisbon, Portugal, June 23-25, 2014. (Oral presentation)
  69. Tong, F. (speaker), Jaramillo, P., Azevedo, I.L., (2014). A comparison of air emissions from natural gas pathways for road transportation, 37th International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) International Conference. New York City, NY, US, June 15-18, 2014. (Oral presentation)
  70. Jenn, A., Azevedo I.L., (speaker), Gillingham, K. (2014). An empirical study of driving behavior and vehicle rebound effects in Pennsylvania, Industry Studies Association, Portland, OR, US, May 27-30, 2014. (Oral presentation)
  71. Min, J. (speaker), Azevedo I.L., Hakkarainen, P., (2014) Assessing regional differences in lighting heat replacement effects in residential buildings in the United States, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST) 2014, Oakland, CA, US, May 18-21, 2014. (Oral Presentation). Paper won paper award, 2nd place.
  72. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Michalek, J.J., (2014). Be careful what you ask for: how corporate average fuel economy incentivizing alternative fuel vehicles leads to higher carbon emissions, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST) 2014, Oakland, CA, US, May 18-21, 2014. (Oral Presentation)
  73. Posen, I.D. (speaker), Griffin, M., Matthews, H.S., Azevedo, I.L., (2014). Greenhouse gas mitigation benefits of expanding US biofuel incentives to promote biomass use in chemical feedstocks, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST) 2014, Oakland, CA, US, May 18-21, 2014. (Oral Presentation)
  74. Tong, F., Jaramillo, P. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2014). A comparison of air emissions from natural gas pathways for road transportation, The International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology (ISSST 2014), Oakland, CA, US, May 18-21, 2014. (Oral presentation)
  75. Meyer, R. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2013). Smart rebates: targeting high-value energy efficiency improvements with smart-meter data, Behavior Energy and Climate Change Conference (BECC), Sacramento, CA, US, November 20, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  76. Horner, N.C. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2013). Energy efficiency in data centers: PUE doesn’t measure what we care about, Behavior Energy and Climate Change Conference (BECC), Sacramento, CA, US, November 20, 2013. (Poster presentation)
  77. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Gillingham, K. (2013). An empirical study of driving behavior and vehicle rebound effects in Pennsylvania, Behavior Energy and Climate Change Conference (BECC), Sacramento, CA, US, November 20, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  78. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2013). Do higher fuel efficient vehicles encourage worse driving habits? Western Energy Policy Research Conference, Portland, OR, US, September 4-5, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  79. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Fischbeck, P., (2013). How do we fund our roads? A case of decreasing revenue from electric vehicles, Western Energy Policy Research Conference, Portland, OR, US, September 4-5, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  80. Min, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Hakkarainen, P., (2013). Analysis of the heat replacement effect (HRE) in residential buildings across the United States, 13th European/International Association for Energy Economics Conference, Dusseldorf, Germany, August 18-21, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  81. Peña, I. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Ferreira, M., (2013). Economic analysis on the profitability of wind in Portugal between 1992-2010, 13th European/International Association for Energy Economics Conference, Dusseldorf, Germany, August 18-21, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  82. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Fischbeck, P., (2013). How will the adoption of electric vehicles affect transportation funding deficits in the United States? 32nd United States Association of Energy Economics, Anchorage, AK, US, July 28-31, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  83. Lamy, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Jaramillo, P., (2013). Integrating wind resources: siting decisions in the Midwest, 32nd United States Association of Energy Economics. Anchorage, AK, US, July 28-31, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  84. Peña, I. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Ferreira, M., (2013). Economic analysis on the profitability of wind in Portugal between 1992-2010, International Energy Workshop, IEA, Paris, France, June 19-21, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  85. Jenn, A. (speaker), Blanco, C., Chernicoff, W., Michalek, J., Azevedo, I.L., (2013). Trends in future vehicle fleet mix in response to CAFE standards using a nested optimization construct, Industry Studies Association, Kansas City, MO, US, May 28-31, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  86. Jenn, A. (speaker), Blanco, C., Chernicoff, W., Michalek, J., Azevedo, I.L., (2013). Automotive transition to sustainable technology mix, a response to CAFE standards, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology, Cincinnati, Ohio, May 15-16, 2013. Paper won paper award, 3rd place.
  87. Jenn, A. (speaker), Blanco, C., Chernicoff, W., Michalek, J., Azevedo, I.L., (2013). Trends in future vehicle fleet mix in response to Corporate Average Fuel Economy standards (CAFE) using an optimization construct, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Boston, MA, US, February 16, 2013. (Oral presentation)
  88. Lamy, J., (speaker), Morgan, M.G., Azevedo, I.L., (2012). Integrating remote wind resources: the role of energy storage, 31st United States Association for Energy Economics Conference (USAEE), Austin, TX, US, November 4-7, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  89. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Ferreira, P., (2012). Impact of federal incentives on adoption of hybrid electric vehicles in the US, 31st United States Association for Energy Economics Conference (USAEE), Austin, TX, US, November 4-7, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  90. Izard, C.F. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C., Matthews, H.S., Hendrickson, C.T., (2012). Winners and losers: estimating the regional variation in power plant turnover resulting from the timing of climate change policy, 31st United States Association for Energy Economics Conference (USAEE), Austin, TX, US, November 4-7, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  91. Thomas, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2012). Direct and indirect rebound effects with Input-Output analysis, 31st United States Association for Energy Economics Conference (USAEE), Austin, TX, US, November 4-7, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  92. Min, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Michalek, J., Bruine de Bruin, W., (2012). Energy labels increase demand for compact fluorescent bulbs: analyzing consumer preferences for lighting technologies using discrete choice analysis, 31st United States Association for Energy Economics Conference (USAEE), Austin, TX, US, November 4-7, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  93. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Ferreira, P., (2012). Impact of federal incentives on adoption of hybrid electric vehicles in the United States, European/International Association for Energy Economics Conference (IAEE), Venice, Italy, September 9-12, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  94. Izard, C.F. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C., Matthews, H.S., Hendrickson, C.T., (2012). The sensitivity of power plants retirements to the timing of climate change policy, Gordon Research Conference in Industrial Ecology, Les Diablerets, Switzerland, June 17-22, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  95. Thomas, B., (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2012). Direct and indirect rebound effects with Input-Output analysis, Empirical Methods in Energy Economics Workshop, Berlin, Germany, June 7-8, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  96. Thomas, B., (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2012). Direct and indirect rebound effects with Input-Output analysis, Industry Studies Association Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, May 29-June 1, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  97. Peña, I. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2012). The impact of feed-in tariff policies in wind diffusion in Portugal, Industry Studies Association Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, May 29-June 1, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  98. Min, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Michalek, J., Bruine de Bruin, W., (2012). Analyzing consumer preferences for lighting technologies using discrete choice analysis, Industry Studies Association Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, May 29-June 1, 2012. (Oral presentation)
  99. Jenn, A. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Ferreira, P., (2012) Impact of federal incentives on adoption of hybrid electric vehicles in the United States, International Symposium on Sustainable Systems and Technology, IEEE, Boston, Massachusetts, May 16-18, 2012. Paper won paper award, 1st place.
  100. Azevedo, I.L. (speaker), Morgan. M.G., Palmer, K., Lave, L., (2011). How much will reducing greenhouse gases in the US residential sector cost? International Society for Industrial Ecology Biannual Meeting, Berkeley, CA, US, June 7-11, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  101. Blackhurst, M. (speaker), Matthews, H.S., Sharrard, A., Hendrickson, C., Azevedo, I.L., (2011). Community-level energy and greenhouse gas benchmarking practices and implications for local sustainability programming, International Society for Industrial Ecology Biannual Meeting, Berkeley, CA, US, June 7-11, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  102. Izard, C.F. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Samaras, C., Matthews, H.S., Hendrickson, C.T., (2011). US electricity infrastructure flow analysis: how fast must we build? International Society for Industrial Ecology Biannual Meeting, Berkeley, CA, US, June 7-11, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  103. Wiesmann, D. (speaker), Rosado, L., Niza, S., Azevedo, I.L., Ferrão, P., Fernandez, J., (2011). Spatially resolved urban material consumption in the residential sector, International Society for Industrial Ecology Biannual Meeting, Berkeley, CA, US, June 7-11, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  104. Siler-Evans, K. (speaker), Morgan, M.G., Azevedo, I.L., (2011). Distributed cogeneration: can we make the economics work? Industry Studies Association Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, May 31-June 2, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  105. Azevedo, I.L. (speaker), Morgan. M.G., Palmer, K., Lave, L., (2011). The cost of reducing U.S. residential energy use and CO2 emissions, Industry Studies Association Conference. Pittsburgh, PA, US. May 31-June 2, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  106. Azevedo, I.L. (speaker), Venâncio, A., (2011). The impact of feed-in tariffs for renewable energy sources in the creation of green entrepreneurs: evidence from Portugal, Industry Studies Association Conference, Pittsburgh, PA, US, May 31-June 2, 2011. (Oral presentation)
  107. Thomas, B. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2010). Non-fungibility of consumer expenditures and the rebound effect, Behavior, Energy and Climate Change Conference, Sacramento, CA, US, November 14-17, 2010. (Oral presentation)
  108. Abreu, J. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2010). Key aspects for the design of real time feedback programs – a perspective from experimental research, Behavior, Energy and Climate Change Conference, Sacramento, CA, US, November 14-17, 2010. (Oral presentation)
  109. Azevedo, I.L., (2009). Reducing uncertainty in energy efficiency investments, INFORMS 2009, San Diego, CA, US, October 11-14, 2010. (Oral presentation)
  110. Samaras, C. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2009). Climate infrastructure analysis for sustainable resource management: how fast should we build? How fast can we build? 5th International Conference for Industrial Ecology, International Society for Industrial Ecology, Lisbon, Portugal, June 21-24, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  111. Azevedo, I.L. (speaker), Samaras, C., (2009). Carbon saving and cost-effectiveness from efficiency measures: improving decision making under uncertainty, 5th International Conference for Industrial Ecology, International Society for Industrial Ecology, Lisbon, Portugal, June 21-24, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  112. Stadler, M. (speaker), Marnay, C., Azevedo, I.L., Komiyama, R., (2009). The open source stochastic building simulation tool SLBM and its capabilities to capture uncertainty of policymaking in the US building sector, 32nd International Association for Energy Economics Conference, San Francisco, CA, US, June 21-24, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  113. Tan, H. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2009). Assessing the effects of EISA mandates and EPA regulations on mercury emissions from residential lighting, 32nd International Association for Energy Economics Conference, San Francisco, CA, US, June 21-24, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  114. Azevedo, I.L., (speaker), (2009). Uncertainty in energy efficiency projections: Implications for energy and climate policies, United States Society for Ecological Economics Conference, American University, Washington, DC, US, June 1-3, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  115. Azevedo, I.L. (speaker), Samaras, C., (2009). How much carbon can I save? How much carbon have I saved? Evaluating the cost effectiveness of US household carbon mitigation strategies under carbon factor uncertainty, US Society for Ecological Econ. Conference, American U., Washington, DC, US, June 1-3, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  116. Samaras, C. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., (2009). Integrating climate economic policy and climate infrastructure policy, United States Society for Ecological Econ. Conference, American U., Washington, DC, US, June 1-3, 2009. (Oral presentation)
  117. Azevedo, I.L., Matthews, H.S. (speaker), Fischbeck, P., Newcomer, A., (2008). A framework for academic institutions decision-making on climate change and sustainability issues, Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education Biannual Conference, Raleigh, NC, US, November 9-11, 2008. (Oral presentation)
  118. Azevedo, I.L., Matthews H.S. (speaker), Fischbeck, P., Cone, J., Ende, J., Park, J., Tan, A., Robl, D., Matsuura, T., Menchin, K., Mikkilineni, S., Cushman, M., Kim, Y., (2008). Development of carbon mitigation tools and benchmarks for universities in the US, Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education Biannual Conference, Raleigh, NC, US, November 9-11, 2008. (Poster presentation)
  119. Stadler, M. (speaker), Marnay, C., Azevedo, I.L., Aki, H., Komiyama, R., Lai, J., (2008). Radical rethinking in building energy forecasting – the open source stochastic building simulation tool SLBM, Behavior, Energy and Climate Change Conference, Sacramento, CA, US, November 16-19, 2008. (Poster presentation)
  120. Stadler, M., Marnay, C. (speaker), Azevedo, I.L., Aki, H., Komiyama, R., Lai, J., (2008). The stochastic building simulation tool SLBM and its new energy forecasting approach, Fifth Annual California Climate Change Research Conference, Sacramento, CA, US, September 8-10, 2008. (Oral presentation)
  121. Azevedo, I.L., (2006). Electricity prices and residential electricity consumption: a US/EU comparison, 26th USAEE/IAEE North American Conference, Ann Arbor, MI, US, September 24-27, 2006. (Oral presentation)
  122. Azevedo, I.L., (2006). Cost effectiveness of end use technologies for carbon mitigation and energy conservation: a comparison between the EU and the US, Technology and Management of Policy Consortium, Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal, June 25-27, 2006. (Poster presentation)